How to remove ‘You’ user menu from Chrome?

The Chromium team allowed the new avatar menu and testing for a while now if you are using chrome Canary or dev. version, you can notice the new menu ‘you’ button in the upper right corner next to the window controls, which is the default profile or user menu which allows you to switch to another user with the ‘Switch Person’ option or enter incognito mode with the ‘Go incognito’ option (check screenshot below).

If you’re the only person using your computer and Chrome browser, and you haven’t created any separate user accounts, the space it takes up at the end of the title bar can be an obstacle to opening new tabs if you already have too many tabs open (the of the user that opens offering options is pretty big and boring, it should be a lot smaller), don’t you want that? Here’s how you can disable or disable it.

TO UPDATE: Chrome 44: how to disable user menu

How to prevent Chrome from adding desktop shortcuts for new user accounts

Disabling or Removing the You User Menu in Chrome

1. Visit the chrome://flags page

2. Find ‘Activate new avatar menu’ flag and select ‘Disabled‘ from the drop-down menu and restart the browser.

Google: User Menu Is As Valuable As Home Button Even If You Don’t Use It

Google employee working on new user menu for Chrome he said in a thread ” we are releasing the user menu as part of a broader initiative for Chrome Identity. We have several goals for change, including

Making it clear to users who are logged into Chrome that they are, in fact, logged into Chrome
More visible access to incognito mode
Adding an abstraction layer to profiles to make the notion of separating people more apparent (i.e. a person, a profile)
Introducing Guest Mode as a better solution to let others use your computer temporarily
Like the home button, we feel that the user menu is a part of the UI that is still valuable even if you don’t use it on a daily basis. ”

How to get Chromebook guest browsing in Google Chrome?

Observation: Please backup your bookmarks and other data like history before doing this.

What is your opinion about the new user menu? Did you find it useful or unnecessary? Did the above mentioned instructions work for you to get rid of it? Let us know in the comments.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.